Let’s quit talking to each other

This post is or was inspired by Liz Strauss.  Actually though, I was going to write this post a long time ago. It’s origins can be found within Twitter, and it’s flourishing within the blogosphere.  Part of my post is fueled by the innate ability of the late comers and the me-too’ers to echo what everyone else is saying via Twitter and their Insta-blogs. Some of them are merely trying to get in the game, while others are just trying to profit off of the efforts and sincerity of others. But the bottom line is they are bringing nothing to the table-zero. You know who you are.

The other part of my post is about the rest of us, me included, who tend to write about whats right, wrong, great, shitty, and awsome about social media, marketing, and all things related to what we do. There’s one big problem with this though. You see we get paid by companies who need what we do. We get paid by companies who have no clue. But our blogs and our Tweets are read by  most people who already know or pretend to know what to do. I know that’s not completely the case but for the majority it is.  Sure we share resources and blog sites with another “great post”,  but the people that we need to be reaching out to are companies that need what you do for a living. And they might not have access to your blog or access to your Tweets.

We need to quit validating each other so much and patting each other on the back. We need to start doing more with clients, and talking less to each other. You need to figure out a better way of getting clients to listen to your Tweets and how you’re going to get them to your blogsite and your website. If that means changing your tune on your tweets or your blog, then so be it.

Wouldn’t you agree?

7 thoughts on “Let’s quit talking to each other

  1. Pingback: Must Read Blog Posts from Across the Net

  2. Mark, Hi
    I completely agree with your post. I worry sometimes as to how some of the alleged SM folks are actually making a living, those who aren’t working for a corporation. Not everyone can be a Scott Monty.

    In our antiquated industry of apartment management, I am attempting to reach the owners and executives with some concise and direct in their face conversation. I have nothing to gain, I am not a marketing guy selling a pitch, I am an apartment guy, but I just really believe that this stuff, Social Media works, and it is changing how be buy and behave right before our eyes if you are awake enough to see it.

  3. Pingback: Social Media Now 10.31.08 | Social Media Club

Comments are closed.